CD Baby Review

This info provided courtesy of the MakellBird.info blog

We’ve decided to further explain the ins-n-outs of digital distribution by showing comparisons of the top companies in the field. Today we will examine the pricing and payment structures of the CD Baby and ADED.US Music Distribution

Cost for a single: 
ADED.US Music Distribution (aded.us) $5 a month + $3 per single, album, EP you are submitting
– Cost for a single: $9.95
– Cost for an album: $49
– Only pays 91% of royalties (this is how they get more $ out of you)
– Pays 2 months after product is sold
– Time it takes to appear on iTunes: up to 2 weeks (they claim 48 hours)
Winner: ADED.US Music Distribution The amount of money you’d save with ADEDistribution in the long run, assuming you plan to release more projects in the future, is a huge discount compared to CDBaby’s pricing scheme. This also means that ADEDistribution has a much lower start-up cost than CDBaby: $8 vs. $9.95 or $49
Cost for an album:
CD Baby $49/year
ADED.US Music Distribution $3 one time fee for members
WinnerADED.US Music Distribution no explanation necessary
Percentage of royalties you get back from the distributor:
CD Baby: 91%
Time it takes to see your album on iTunes:
CD Baby 2 weeks or more
WinnerADED.US Music Distribution no explanation necessary
Time it takes to receive royalties back:
CDBaby 2-4 months
ADEDistribution 25-45 days after the month in which product sold
Time it takes to get a response from company:
CD Baby up to a month or even NEVER (according to a lot of angry customers)
ADED.US Music Distribution less than 24 hours, reports have shown sometimes even with 4 hours
Final Verdict: Numerous complaints from unhappy customers along with long wait times all around and high pricing make CD Baby undesireable in these times and they simply can not hold a candle to ADED.US Music Distribution
One thought on “CD Baby Review

  1. Couldn’t agree more. After working through CD Baby’s site (more like CD Maybe), I basically got ripped off. When I went to check out, I got an ERROR message redirecting me to the home page. What? Most online businesses will redirect to the point of error (if there was an error…) Did I put my credit card info in wrong? I don’t know! So I tried again. Same result. So I looked for online support. None existed. So I called. Out of office, at 5 PM. Really? for a business of hundreds of thousands of customers??? So I emailed. I got an out of office reply, with a promise to return my message in 1 to 2 business days. Seeing as it’s Friday, I’m assuming I won’t get anywhere till Tusday? Then I discovered I was in fact billed. Twice! So CD Maybe sit on over $200 of my money, and can’t be reached. I call this a scam. There’s a good reason this company is getting two and three star reviews out there…

Leave a Reply

